Top Books Every Christian Should Read!


 
Posted on Monday June 11, 2018

With the summer holidays approaching it is always good to be thinking about what books you might like to read while on the beach or whilst sat in a cafe (well we can dream). Now I know that it is always nice to take a good fictional novel away with us that we can get lost in but it is also worth thinking about taking a book that might help you in your Christian walk and help you not to take a holiday from God!

woman-reading-on-beach__hero

I recently sent a list of  books that (I think) all Christians should read before they die to our ‘Man Skills‘ group. These are all books that have had a profound affect on me over the years and so I thought it worth sharing with every one.

I have also put a link next to them all so you can just click on it and go ahead and buy them straight away.

If you think I have missed any then please let me know! And you are not allowed to say “the bible”, that is a given!

The Cross of Christ- John Stott https://www.thegoodbook.co.uk/the-cross-of-christ/?ref=1526136809

Holiness – J C Ryle https://www.thegoodbook.co.uk/holiness/?ref=1526136809

Power Through Prayer- E M Bounds https://www.10ofthose.com/products/1629/power-through-prayer/?ref=1526136809

Desiring God- John Pipe https://www.thegoodbook.co.uk/desiring-god-1//?ref=1526136809//?ref=1526136809

Knowing God- J I Packer https://www.thegoodbook.co.uk/knowing-god//?ref=1526136809

The Reason For God- Tm Keller https://www.thegoodbook.co.uk/the-reason-for-god//?ref=1526136809

Tactics- Greg Koukl https://www.10ofthose.com/products/12847/tactics

Dig Deeper- Beynon, Sach https://www.thegoodbook.co.uk/dig-deeper//?ref=1526136809

God’s Big Picture- Vaughan Roberts https://www.thegoodbook.co.uk/gods-big-picture//?ref=1526136809

Life Together- Dietrich Bonhoeffer https://www.10ofthose.com/products/20930/life-together/

Mortification of Sin- John Owen https://www.10ofthose.com/products/14254/the-mortification-of-sin

Calvin’s Institutes- John Calvin https://www.10ofthose.com/products/7650/institutes-of-the-christian-religion

Systematic Theology- Wayne Grudem https://www.thegoodbook.co.uk/systematic-theology//?ref=1526136809

The Prodigal God- Tim Keller https://www.thegoodbook.co.uk/the-prodigal-god//?ref=1526136809

Idols- Julian Hardiman https://www.thegoodbook.co.uk/idols//?ref=1526136809

Counterfeit Gods- Tim Keller https://www.thegoodbook.co.uk/idols//?ref=1526136809

Mere Christianity- C S Lewis https://www.thegoodbook.co.uk/mere-christianity//?ref=1526136809

The Screwtape Letter- C S Lewis https://www.thegoodbook.co.uk/the-screwtape-letters//?ref=1526136809

Nine Marks of a Healthy Church- Mark Dever https://www.thegoodbook.co.uk/nine-marks-of-a-healthy-church-1//?ref=1526136809 

A Praying Life- Paul E Miller https://www.thegoodbook.co.uk/a-praying-life-1//?ref=1526136809

A Better Story (God, Sex and Human Flourishing)- Glynn Harrison https://www.thegoodbook.co.uk/a-better-story//?ref=1526136809

Surprised By Joy- C S Lewis https://www.thegoodbook.co.uk/surprised-by-joy//?ref=1526136809

The Goldilocks Zone- Mike Ovey https://www.thegoodbook.co.uk/the-goldilocks-zone//?ref=1526136809

Disciplines of a Godly Man- Kent Hughes https://www.thegoodbook.co.uk/christian-living/men/disciplines-of-a-godly-young-man//?ref=1526136809

Instruments in The Redeemer’s Hands- Paul D Tripp https://www.thegoodbook.co.uk/instruments-in-the-redeemers-hands//?ref=1526136809

Married for God- Christopher Ash https://www.thegoodbook.co.uk/married-for-god//?ref=1526136809

Shepherding a Child’s heart- Tedd Tipp https://www.10ofthose.com/products/1635/shepherding-a-childs-heart

Pierced for Our Transgression- Ovey, Jeffery, Sach https://www.thegoodbook.co.uk/pierced-for-our-transgressions//?ref=1526136809

Captured by a Better Vision- Tim Chester https://www.thegoodbook.co.uk/captured-by-a-better-vision//?ref=1526136809

The Transgender Debate- Andrew Walker https://www.thegoodbook.co.uk/god-and-the-transgender-debate//?ref=1526136809

Seeking Allah, Finding God- Nabeel Qureshi https://www.thegoodbook.co.uk/seeking-allah-finding-jesus//?ref=1526136809

Systematic Theology – Wayne Grudem https://www.thegoodbook.co.uk/systematic-theology//?ref=1526136809

Chosen By God- R C SProul https://www.10ofthose.com/products/1537/chosen-by-god

Incomparable- Andrew Wilson https://www.10ofthose.com/products/5967/incomparable

Simply God- Peter Sanlon https://www.10ofthose.com/products/17201/simply-god

George Whitfield: God’s Anointed Servant In The Great Revival Of The Eighteenth Century- Arnold Dalimore https://www.crossway.org/books/george-whitefield-tpb-1/

The Jesus Story Book Bible- Sally Lloyd Jones https://www.thegoodbook.co.uk/jesus-storybook-bible//?ref=1526136809

Leave a Comment
 
Kennet Valley Free Church, Carters Rise, Fords Farm, Calcot, Reading RG31 7YT - (0118) 942 1591. Registered Charity No. 1174002